Go to footer

Trackmania 2 Stadium | Open Beta

Questions and thoughts about RPG in general

Trackmania 2 Stadium | Open Beta

Postby HawkGer » 27.02.2013, 15:57

Use this thread to talk about everything related to the Stadium 2 Open Beta.
You can download the beta here: Open Beta - Download for free - ManiaPlanet

Also read here to learn about the difference between free and paid version, among other things:
Maniaplanet Forum
User avatar
HawkGer
Site Admin
 
Posts: 629
Joined: 10.04.2010, 08:36


Postby HawkGer » 27.02.2013, 16:24

My first impressions:
- hmm these graphics don't look that much different
- wth these car sounds are so wrong
- no new blocks at all :(
- old tracks can simply be opened and mods are working perfectly :thumbsup:
- rooms very dark (especially in night mood)
- shadow calculation still very messed up in default (will try better settings later)
- they added a texture to the raised water !!! :cursing:
User avatar
HawkGer
Site Admin
 
Posts: 629
Joined: 10.04.2010, 08:36


Postby beep » 27.02.2013, 17:06

3% downloaded, i wait for try :)
4F clan
Image
User avatar
beep
 
Posts: 317
Joined: 04.06.2010, 20:46


Postby N00BYZOR » 27.02.2013, 19:02


old tracks can simply be opened and mods are working perfectly

I just tried to open a RPG map I made in TM 1, all the custom contents downloaded fine but the game crashed during the map loading... I tried twice with the same result.
Maybe maps that include blockmixing are not supported. (The map I tried to open isn't a envi mix map)

they added a texture to the raised water !!!

OMG what ?! 8| :cursing: That means there are no invisible way in TM2 Stadium ?!

Btw I like the new features in the editor. The copy/paste will be very comfortable :)
;)
User avatar
N00BYZOR
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 04.07.2011, 14:06


Postby HawkGer » 27.02.2013, 19:46

Yeah N00BY, I tried ChemicalX as the first map and it worked fine. All the RPG maps I tried after that (about 5 tracks) didn't work. Same problem as yours. And blockmixing can't really be the problem since ChemicalX has BM as well (although not that much).
User avatar
HawkGer
Site Admin
 
Posts: 629
Joined: 10.04.2010, 08:36


Postby eie » 27.02.2013, 20:00

HawkGer wrote:- wth these car sounds are so wrong


Why don't you just mute TM like a normal person :D

Also, backwards-driving is updated, which is nice imo. More control ^^

Invisible road can be modded anyways, not a big deal (seriously, nobody ever sees the pool floor anyways, so why not? Although you should probably report that om http://www.forum.maniaplanet.com if you think it's a big deal :)

WHEN WILL MY MODS BE READY?
I'm too cool to have a signature...
eie
 
Posts: 388
Joined: 21.05.2010, 18:04


Postby Niiel-Moo » 27.02.2013, 21:06

Well, i tested some things in the editor and these are the results:
Pipes: You can now go really fullspeed on them, i managed to drive 180 on it
Cornerwallrides: You cant fall of them anymore
normal wallrides: You can now drive 100 on them instead of 50

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm
User avatar
Niiel-Moo
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 26.04.2011, 13:46


Postby XT3 » 28.02.2013, 02:04

Its cool So hopefully I can take my Ghosts' lantern mod and play it. anyone buy the game?
User avatar
XT3
 
Posts: 301
Joined: 06.01.2012, 16:56


Postby HawkGer » 28.02.2013, 10:30

This is such bullshit!!!!! :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:
I thought the transparency wasn't working on mods because the textures had to be readjusted.
But apparently it is completely removed for all textures except RoadGrid and StadiumStructureAlpha.
This completely destroys RPG
And also makes it impossible to make the raised water transparent.

I had enough of this game for now, I'm so disappointed :fie:
User avatar
HawkGer
Site Admin
 
Posts: 629
Joined: 10.04.2010, 08:36


Postby eie » 28.02.2013, 10:39

It's still in BETA hawk, why don't you post that on the beta topic on maniaplanet?
Maniaplanet Forum
I'm too cool to have a signature...
eie
 
Posts: 388
Joined: 21.05.2010, 18:04


Postby HawkGer » 28.02.2013, 10:45

yeah I posted it in the forum. It is not a bug btw....it is completely intentional. I think I remember Nadeo saying (when Canyon was in Beta) that computers can render the maps faster if there's no alpha channel by default.
I don't think they are gonna fix that.
User avatar
HawkGer
Site Admin
 
Posts: 629
Joined: 10.04.2010, 08:36


Postby XT3 » 28.02.2013, 14:24

I plan to recreate my Ghost's Lantern Mod for TM2 Most of the textures are the same but grass and dirt so far
User avatar
XT3
 
Posts: 301
Joined: 06.01.2012, 16:56


Postby eie » 28.02.2013, 15:20

A few things I learnt after hawk was kind enough to compute shadows for a few of my maps:

Dirt and pool at ground level might not stay the same after importing, but will disappear/appear at random spots after the import.

Dirt and pool in the air will be removed.

It will be really dark if you don't have any light sources. Basically you cannot see your car if you're driving inside a Labyrinth
I'm too cool to have a signature...
eie
 
Posts: 388
Joined: 21.05.2010, 18:04


Postby Golo » 28.02.2013, 16:14

Is it just me or are the advertisement blocks now incredibly bright? Looks awful for me,
although Im wondering right now, because the rooms do not really look that dark for me, they actually rather look brighter as well (although I have high shadows and everything)

Edit: Okay I see what you mean... its just in sunset where its really bright, in day mod its indeed dark inside... and theres very heavy fog which is too much imo... any way to change that? (there is an option called "Nebelskalierung (cant translate)ingame but I cant change anything there ?! )

All in all dissappointing also because of the things you guys already mentioned...

Imo the physics have also changed alot... its not that obvious at most cps... but on some you can recognize this... and about the car sounds I agree with hawk

to name some positive things:
The athmospheres are now different which might look sometimes strange on old tracks but might be cool to build new trakcs now
and they managed that lags arent bad at all right now... at least with rather low settings (which are still good-looking though)... with these settings I have no lags at all even at really heavy tracks and also loading time decreased.
Last edited by Golo on 28.02.2013, 16:14, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Golo
 
Posts: 160
Joined: 24.05.2010, 22:56


Postby HawkGer » 28.02.2013, 16:18

yep Golo....those ad blocks and the sides of the circuitborder block are incredibly bright. Had to close my eyes actually one time because it was too extreme. They should definitely fix that.

The rooms are very dark for me in all moods. For example this one is in Sunset:
http://www.vinummusik.de/Media/darkshit1.jpg

http://www.vinummusik.de/Media/darkshit2.jpg
User avatar
HawkGer
Site Admin
 
Posts: 629
Joined: 10.04.2010, 08:36


Postby Golo » 28.02.2013, 16:27

hmm, maybe its because I opened it in the editor?

This is a track in day mood I played online:
Image


and this a track I opened in the editor (sunset):

Image


both doesnt look very nice imo.... the outside looks nice though (especially on marayah ruins)
User avatar
Golo
 
Posts: 160
Joined: 24.05.2010, 22:56


Postby eie » 28.02.2013, 16:34

I don't know if it's because of low graphic settings, but yes I did have a lot of fog as well.

and yes, I forgot those billboards were really bright.

Although, I like some of these changes too ^^
I'm too cool to have a signature...
eie
 
Posts: 388
Joined: 21.05.2010, 18:04


Postby XT3 » 28.02.2013, 16:37

User avatar
XT3
 
Posts: 301
Joined: 06.01.2012, 16:56


Postby HawkGer » 28.02.2013, 17:03

You have to compute the shadows Golo, doesn't look like there are any in your editor pic....
User avatar
HawkGer
Site Admin
 
Posts: 629
Joined: 10.04.2010, 08:36


Postby eie » 28.02.2013, 17:21

I'm too cool to have a signature...
eie
 
Posts: 388
Joined: 21.05.2010, 18:04


Postby Golo » 28.02.2013, 18:02

HawkGer wrote:You have to compute the shadows Golo, doesn't look like there are any in your editor pic....
Hm, its not automatically? How to do so? :wacko:

Edit: Ok you can simply save and then compute...
Last edited by Golo on 28.02.2013, 18:02, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Golo
 
Posts: 160
Joined: 24.05.2010, 22:56


Postby HawkGer » 28.02.2013, 23:06

Fix writes in the forum: "For technical reasons, standard materials no longer have that colateral effect of being automatically transparent if you add an alpha channel."


Maniaplanet Forum
User avatar
HawkGer
Site Admin
 
Posts: 629
Joined: 10.04.2010, 08:36


Postby JumperJack » 01.03.2013, 10:58

well we can always try to fight for it. i actually waited to release my own rpg until tm2 stadium came out, but now i got my doubts.

it's still in beta. things can change!
JumperJack
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 08.09.2011, 05:55


Postby eie » 01.03.2013, 13:43

Does anybody know if it's possible to create transparent objects?
I'm too cool to have a signature...
eie
 
Posts: 388
Joined: 21.05.2010, 18:04


Postby JumperJack » 01.03.2013, 16:45

bah pipes and narrow parts are indeed very easy now...
JumperJack
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 08.09.2011, 05:55

Next

Return to Board index

Return to RPG Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest